top of page

INK Blurb

It’s easy to follow what others tell me. Whether in the form of compliments, advice, or criticism, I find accepting other people’s judgements of me always simpler than creating my own. I think it’s a way of identifying myself. The idea that I hold a place in somebody else’s mind makes me feel safe, happy.

Because, like every other teenager, when I try to figure myself out, I become extremely confused and frustrated, and then, in my mind, I am nobody.

Instead, I trust my family, my friends, and sometimes complete strangers to tell me who I am and what I do well. Each opinion contributes to a collection of expectations which eventually forms the person that everyone, including myself, presumes me to be. While these judgements are often true, the premises on which they are formed are only half true.

For the very same reason I am comforted by my reputation, I unconsciously bind myself to it, an external perception, which inadvertently limits me and what I do. While focusing on my strengths and talents, I obstruct the capability to change my personality or explore new interests, because, like I said, it’s safer, happier. I don’t have to worry about being a nobody or having no way of identifying myself in a competitive society. Most people see me as a dancer, and I am flattered by the connection because it means that people recognize my dedication to the art and how important it is to me. However, people are always surprised when I express my fondness for visual arts or music. I find that the recognition of me as a dancer can often overshadow other interests, and the fear of failing in cohesion with the security of a reputation prevents me from trying the unknown.

However, while opinions are inevitable, I realize that I should not be afraid of venturing beyond these incomplete truths. My identity is only partially true because it is composed of judgements of the past and expectations of the future. What if, in the present, I choose to be an entirely different person?


Featured Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page