top of page

Out of the Woods

For the past five years, I have attended Wavus Camp for Girls, a wilderness

tripping camp in Maine. I have completed hiking, canoeing, and kayaking trips of

increasing length and difficulty each summer with the same group of six girls who

have become my family. This summer was the grand finale. This year’s trip, Maine

Trails, consisted of twenty days of backpacking in the most mountainous section of

the Appalachian Trail. We hiked 200 miles total, and our days were ten miles long

on average, but they sometimes reached fifteen. We faced mud, mosquitoes, soaked

boots, gale force winds, hypothermia, and torrential downpour. The difficulty of the

trip is summed up in the sheer conviction with which my friend declared, “I’d rather

be in school!”

I cannot describe how spiritual and transformative this experience was. I

thought my life had changed forever. I would no longer timid. I would no longer

strive to meet the expectations of others. I would do what makes me happy. I would

finally be purely my own person, and not who I thought people wanted me to be.

I was wrong.

When I returned to the civilized world after this intense, emotional

experience, reality smacked me in the back of the head with a baseball bat. I woke

up at ten every day, took a nap from two-thirty to five, and then went back to sleep

at ten. My parents almost had me tested for mono. I simply could not adjust to life in

the real world, and I felt cripplingly lonely without my cabin mates.

After a week and a half, I snapped out of my fog, and returned to my normal

self. Herein lies the problem: I became essentially the same person who I was before

the trip. I cared about what other people thought. I worried that people who I

perceived as cool might not like me. I became terrified that everything I was doing

was not enough.

I spent much of my fall chasing release from my burning self-doubt, but it

grew exponentially. The pressures of Upper Mid year combined with a traumatic

shoulder injury and a prolonged absence from classes rendered me a moody,

nervous shadow of my hiking self. My diminished state was especially pronounced

because I knew how confident and strong I had become on the trail.

Finally, when I was hiking again over winter break, I saw this person again.

On those hikes, wearing my worn-in hiking boots, legs scratched by overgrown

grass, and dirt caked beneath my fingernails, I was able to breathe deeply again. It

was the silence that I missed the most. I craved silence from my own thoughts,

silence from the devil on my shoulder that whispers, and sometimes screams, that I

am not good enough. I am able to think clearly because that devil is bound and

gagged.

My life did not change course because of Maine Trails. I have not

permanently become the person who I was on the trip. However, now I have a place

where I can be that person when I have the chance. Now I know how it feels to rid

myself of the insidious, malicious voice in the back of my mind. That voice will

always be there, but at least I can escape for a few hours, or maybe even weeks.


Featured Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page