top of page

Simple Crushes


A thin film of tears lies over my eyes. It neither dries and forgets nor flows and bygones down my wretched face. Man has always desired secret things, hidden in our deepest of locked havens. You say I don’t like her. I say I don’t feel for her. My heart says we both are liars. Every day at the stone bench, I watch as the rays of light follow her entrance. Running on the forest path, I imagine the path of golden brushing will lead to her. Alas, where the trees end, the cold concrete replaces. Walking away from the bench, I silently await the next day’s coming. Even autumn’s beautiful awakening pales next to her simple smile. I am a sufferer of an endless game of subtlety and evasion. Our paths never seem to collide by fate; he is a cruel sustainer of our unknown. I smile; I wince. Looking down at my little feet, I dare not sing my truth; I do not know if she will even like my words. However, no matter how hard my fear oppresses me, I still dream. I am consumed by a dream of freeing life’s river with her by my side. Under moonlit tides and a star-filled universe, we would let our euphony awash the entire world, its reach limitless. Together, we would form perfection. Sadly, the day ends and I’m still dreaming.

PC: Max Li


Featured Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page